Skip to content

New-found Delight; Goodbye to an Old Friend

May 8, 2013

Wherein I rave and then rant about things to put in my face.


raspberryliqueur

Rave: Here’s where having good connections and social media can come in handy. Last time my Mom came to visit, she took me to Costco to ooh and ahh over ridiculously large amounts of food and surprisingly good deals on clothing, gas, and alcohol. I don’t have a membership, but I’m sure to take advantage of hers when she’s in town (thanks, Mom!).  Their book prices aren’t great, but I came across one that looked interesting: Jam, Jelly, & Relish by Ghillie James. As I flipped through it, I saw a simple recipe for “Rasperrycello” (you know, like limoncello, but with raspberries). I had also just seen, mere aisles away, 1-lb boxes of raspberries and 1.5L bottles of vodka on sale. Just the right amount to double the recipe. Well, all righty, then. So I picked up the raspberries and vodka, made a mental note of the book’s name to find later on Amazon.com, and went on my merry little way (after picking up several other things I totally needed). I had a fleeting thought that I should take a picture of the cover of the book so I didn’t forget, but that would have made too much sense.

I went home and threw together the raspberrycello in a big ol’ Mason jar before putting the other groceries away (of course). Then I tried to remember the name of the book. Um, Jelly, Jam, Something? Jam, Something, Something? Nuts. Here’s where Facebook became useful for once. I sent out a call to see if any of my friends were members, and if they were, could they, pretty please, go there soon and look for some random book with fruit on the cover and jam (and/or possibly, jelly) in the name? My friends came through! That very night, a lovely friend  stopped in to Costco, found the book despite my ridiculous description, and sent me the name! I quickly found it used on Amazon for $4.69, shipped. The book arrived yesterday, the same day I was ready to strain and taste the raspberrycello. Perfect.

The stuff is delicious. Sweet and raspberry-licious, but not overpowering. Mixer ideas: pineapple juice, tonic water, club soda, ginger ale, vanilla or spiced rum…more after I experiment. Stop on by the porch sometime for a sample!

raspberryliqueur2

Rant: In other, less-awesome food-based news, I recently discovered that the Targets in my area are apparently no longer going to carry the Archer Farms brand frozen cheese and chile tamales that I LIVE on. Don’t they know I must eat them at least 2 times a week or I may die? Or at least be mildly inconvenienced and somewhat unsatisfied gastronomically? They’re on clearance for half the price I usually paid, so I’m stocking up. There are now 11 boxes in my freezer Well, 8 boxes, really. I had to take 3 packs out of the outer box to get them all to fit. Enough to maybe last through the summer if I’m careful. The only thing that would be worse would be if stores stopped carrying bottles of Herdez Salsa Verde. Then I (and at least one other like-minded person I know) would have to take up our pitchforks and storm the Hy-Vee Manager’s office!

In any case, it looks like I can no longer count on tamales for lunch. Who’s got some yummy vegetarian lunch ideas for me?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2013 7:38 am

    Re: veggie lunches…in a large bowl, combine baby spinach, cherry tomatoes (halved), corn, diced red onion, a boat load of fresh cilantro, one avocado (roughly cut into cubes), and feta. Salt and pepper to taste. Then add a few tablespoons of Newmann’s Own Lite Lime Vinaigrette. You can get it just about anywhere. Mix it all up and wrap it in a spinach-flavored wrap. You will LOVE it!

    • May 9, 2013 8:11 am

      Mmmmm. It was sounding suspiciously like a salad until the wrap part. Then it sounded delightful! I’m that awesome kind of vegetarian that hates salad. Sigh. Thanks for the combo idea. I’ll have to pick up some of the dressing to try!

  2. JuLee permalink
    May 8, 2013 7:39 pm

    I can’t imagine a world (or a meal) without Herdez Verde Salsa. 😉

  3. May 8, 2013 2:08 pm

    I am totally coming over to try some!

  4. May 8, 2013 12:10 pm

    Lori – I wish! I’d get the Subscribe & Save option 😉

    Amanda – mmmm…that does sound good! Tell those crazy people you work for that they need to give you a break so you can come drink raspberrycello on my porch. They still like me – I’m sure they’ll go for it!

  5. Amanda permalink
    May 8, 2013 11:52 am

    This is just what i’d throw together – mashed avocado (or sliced) & pepperjack sandwich. Add more spice and maybe lightly toast the bread. I love avocado in my breakfast, although mine include an egg usually :/
    I’d stop by for a sample if there’s even some left! If I didn’t have so much to do after 5pm, I’d be there within 24hrs. Solution: find a way to not work so much.

  6. May 8, 2013 11:51 am

    Can you find those on Amazon? Lol

Leave a Reply

