Skip to content

M-O-T-H-E-R

May 8, 2011

Another gem in my vintage sheet music collection, this one for all the wonderful M-O-T-H-E-R-S who mean the world to us. This one’s especially dedicated to my own M-O-T-H-E-R. Love you, special lady!

M-O-T-H-E-R, 1915

I’ve been around the world, you bet, but never went to school
Hard knocks are all I seem to get, perhaps I’ve been a fool
But still, some educated folks, supposed to be so swell
Would fail if they were called upon a simple word to spell
Now if you’d like to put me to the test
There’s one dear name that I can spell the best

“M” is for the million things she gave me
“O” means only that she’s growing old
“T” is for the tears she shed to save me
“H” is for her heart of purest gold
“E” is for her eyes with love-light shining
“R” means right and right she’ll always be
Put them all together they spell MOTHER, a word that means the world to me

When I was but a baby, long before I learned to walk
While lying in my cradle, I would try my best to talk
It wasn’t long before I spoke and all the neighbors heard
My folks were very proud of me for “Mother” was the word
Although I’ll never lay a claim to fame
I’m satisfied that I can spell the name

“M” is for the mercy she possesses
“O” means that I owe her all I own
“T” is for her tender, sweet caresses
“H” is for her hands that made a home
“E” means ev’rything she’s done to help me
“R” means real and regular, you see
Put them all together they spell MOTHER, a word that means the world to me

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 8:17 am

    Hi Diane, which fabric? For the sheet/pillowcase project, the Mickey Mouse fabric was “vintage” (a friend’s old sheet), and the red cotton broadcloth fabric was from Joann’s.

    • Diane Manzi permalink
      January 18, 2012 10:54 am

      Thank you. I have been looking for an old sheet like that. I’m having a hard time finding one.

      • January 18, 2012 4:24 pm

        I did a quick check on eBay; you can find the sets there from $5-10.

  2. Diane Manzi permalink
    January 17, 2012 7:18 pm

    Where did you get the fabric?
    Thanks Diane

Leave a Reply

