Skip to content

Fabric Craft: Pillow Case

December 6, 2010

In our last episode, we left our hero wondering how to make a pillow case without a big enough piece of Mickey Mouse fabric.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaugh!

DUN DUN DUN! Coordinating red fabric to the rescue!

The blue is a standard pillow case.

In this picture, the blue fabric is a standard pillow case, which I’m using as a pattern. You can see the MM fabric is just a bit too small. The red fabric I used for the semi-fitted sheet is tall and wide enough, but only for one side. (Note to self, plan for a pillow case the next time you buy fabric for sheets!) So my brilliant solution to my not-so-brilliant dilemma was to use the extra height of the red to my advantage. In my tradition of tutorials-that-aren’t-tutorials, here’s what I did:

  • Trimmed the long sides of the MM fabric straight, turned wrong sides together, and sewed the red and MM into a tube the same height (short sides) as the pattern pillow case.
  • Sewed one of the short ends closed.
  • Folded the other end down twice as I did for the top of the semi-fitted sheet, then hemmed.
  • Turned it right-side out and added a grosgrain ribbon on the outside to finish it off like the semi-fitted sheet, and to hide the crazy hem I made (no more eggnog while sewing for me!).

Voila! A coordinating pillow, with the added benefit of two sides to choose from. I totally planned that.

Mickey side…
…rescue side

I think it ended up cooler than the other side of the pillow, man. In case you missed the post, (or the two links above), here’s how I made a toddler sheet set.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda Bogaard permalink
    December 6, 2010 8:55 am

    let’s see, is that called “making lemonade from lemons”??? 🙂
    very clever and creative!

    • December 6, 2010 9:00 am

      Absolutely! I was determined to make it work. The little girl they were for opened them this weekend – birthday success!
      -k-

Trackbacks

  1. Fabric Craft: Toddler Sheets from Vintage Sheets « Fancy and Schmancy

Leave a Reply

