Skip to content

Cleaning up Craft: Soap Dispenser Labels

September 17, 2010

In an effort to keep things both fancy and schmancy in the kitchen, I forewent the usual hand- and dish-soap bottles on the counter in favor of two of these from Target:

Soap dispenser - unlabeled

However,  people couldn’t tell the hand soap from the dish soap and I was asked which was which about 27 times a day. Or once. I’m not sure; I wasn’t keeping count. Anyhoo, to help out my poor husband and guests, I thought some labels were in order. In Illustrator, I whipped up some dish icons from scratch and a hand from a vector I had and voilà, the labels were born.

Soap dispenser labels

From there, I exported an .svg file, loaded it into my Cricut, and cut them out of sticky vinyl. Slapped ’em on the front of the soap dispensers after cleaning each one with alcohol, and there you go! Clean hands and dishes, no questions asked.

 Soap dispensers with labels

If you have a Cricut or similar machine and would like to fancify your own soap dispensers, you can download the .svg file on box.net here. Ah, the clean sounds of sudsy silence.

Soap Dispensers with labels in window wth flowers

Disclaimer: if you were to buy a Cricut at Amazon through the link above, I’d get a tiny percentage as a kickback. Just thought you should know.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    April 29, 2013 9:13 am

    ok, i do remember these! i’m only using my reused foaming ones from B&B Works and they’re caked with label residue. My dream would be to find some glas ones at a yardsale this summer.

    • April 29, 2013 9:15 am

      Try some olive oil on the outside, and hot water on the inside. That usually does it for me! Or GooGone. Or tossing them and finding glass ones at a yard sale this summer, but I think you have that covered 😉

      • Amanda permalink
        April 29, 2013 9:23 am

        thanks! Baby oil didn’t do the trick yesterday, but i’ll try hot water on in side while rubbing olive on the outside. Never thought about adding a little heat 🙂

  2. amanda permalink
    September 22, 2010 3:45 pm

    i love! my husband has a humongous version of a Cricut 🙂 One of these days, I need to suck it up and have him to train me on it so I can make my own household items Fancier 🙂

  3. Linda Bogaard permalink
    September 17, 2010 1:10 pm

    attractive and easy to determine — way to go!

Leave a Reply

