Skip to content

Vintage Finds: Plantation Dainties

September 14, 2010
Mammy corseting Scarlett

"Now you stand still while I get you in your Plantation Dainties, Miss Scarlett!"

I almost gotcha with the title, didn’t I? You really thought you were going to see Scarlett O’Hara-type undergarments, huh? No, but you will see some can. 

Undergarments. Maybe it says something about the way I think, but that’s absolutely what came to mind when I saw this can at an estate sale: 

Can of Plantation Dainties Candy

Not underpants

The thought of it amuses me so much I have it on my work table to enjoy every day.  

If I did ever happen to procure actual Plantation Dainties candy, I would be certain to serve them on this plate:  

Painted Plate, Mammy lacing Scarlett up

Deliciously dainty

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    January 14, 2011 1:45 pm

    They still sell those candies in that same funky can!
    http://www.plantationcandies.com/candy_shop/product/dainties-22oz/

    • Kristie permalink*
      January 14, 2011 1:57 pm

      Oh wow! What a great find, Lisa! Thanks for letting me know. I do like the metal lid of the older version better, but I’m tempted to pick up a can to see if they’re any good.

      Oooh, I also like the black can – even more “sophisticated” looking. Maybe for a cocktail party rather than book club. http://www.plantationcandies.com/candy_shop/product/dainties-12oz/

  2. September 14, 2010 2:10 pm

    great pics, where’d the plate come from?

    • September 14, 2010 2:12 pm

      If you click on it, it will take you to the shop where I found it. A must-have for a collector such as yourself.

Leave a Reply

