Skip to content

Paper Crafts: Book Wreath

September 9, 2010

It can’t all be about the sheet music, can it? I’ve got more sheet music saved for a later date, but today I thought I’d share a craft with you that I absolutely love: book wreaths. I first saw them here on the Living with Lindsay blog and fell in love.  

Living with Lindsay Ruffly Wreath

Living with Lindsay Ruffly Wreath

  Her version was a bit too “ruffly” for me, though, so I went more angular with my pages, rolling them into more conical shapes before hot-gluing them on. I skipped some other steps too:  I used my old, yellowed, falling-apart version of Alice in Wonderland to start with, so I didn’t need to “age” the pages with paint, saving a lot of prep time. I think the result is gorgeous, what do you think? 

Kristie's Book Wreath

Kristie's Book Wreath

Now it’s both fancy and schmancy! It really pops against the red walls in my kitchen. I thought about hanging it in my office, or somewhere above a bookshelf, but darn it, books belong everywhere!  

As I hit garage sales this summer, I kept an eye out for old books to craft with. I’ll be making another wreath soon, using the pages from the guts of some of the old sheet music. There are a few other book crafts up my sleeve – stay tuned!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    September 13, 2010 5:34 pm

    I love this. I’ll tuck this away with the one million other projects I would love to do but never have time for. 🙂

    • September 14, 2010 8:54 am

      Glad you liked it! It actually was on my own list of crafts I thought I’d never get to. 😉

  2. Linda Bogaard permalink
    September 12, 2010 6:17 pm

    you are one very creative lady! I’m so glad I’m related to you! 🙂

  3. September 9, 2010 11:43 pm

    Love this! It’s gorgeous!

  4. jen neumann permalink
    September 9, 2010 12:37 pm

    Love it!

    • September 10, 2010 2:49 pm

      Thanks, Jen. Maybe I could find a Madonna book to make one for your living room…

  5. Amanda permalink
    September 9, 2010 12:23 pm

    That’s gorgeous! I so want to do that but don’t know when I’d find the time. Or patience. Or coordination, for that matter.

Trackbacks

  1. music video games « Harmonic Family

Leave a Reply

