Skip to content

If I Can’t Get the Sweetie I Want…

August 29, 2010

Up next in my series of vintage sheet music, things take a darker turn. This little ditty from 1923 may be bouncy in melody, but it’s downright growly in tone:
"If I Can't Get the Sweetie I Want (I Pity the Sweetie I Get)" 1923

It features lyrics like:

Now you can speak your heart, say what you think
But don’t get smart with pencil and ink
So if I can’t get the sweetie I want
I pity the sweetie I get

Oh, I don’t want a Sheik
No they’re too dumb
They think your cheek is just chewing gum
So if I can’t get the sweetie I want
I pity the sweetie I get

Lovely.

If that didn’t set your little heart aflutter (or make you want to call the cops), this next one sure ly will. From the title to the photo, it’s a perfect picture of terror.

"Wait Till I Get You Alone" 1919

*Shiver*

And it gets worse: turns out our lover boy is a phone stalker, way back in 1919:

Willie Snow each night would go to see his sweetheart Flo
Her folks would always sit around the room until he’d go
Willie never had a chance to be with her alone
But this is what he’d tell her when he’d call her on the phone

Wait ’till I get you alone
Wait ’till I get you alone

When there’s no one around to see
I’ll make you give me all the love you promised me
Wait ’till I get you alone

When there is nobody home,
Your mother surely ought to know I love you so
But she don’t understand and I want her to know
That I’m not made of ice because my name is Snow

Oh, wait ’till I get you alone…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. vang bradley permalink
    August 31, 2010 11:23 am

    she promised…

    • September 1, 2010 10:54 am

      But if they were never alone, how could she even make the promise?

  2. Bekki permalink
    August 30, 2010 8:49 pm

    “I’ll make you give me all the love you promised me”??? Eesh…

Leave a Reply

